Michelle Morris, Managing Director / Rheolwr Gyfarwyddwr

T: 01495 355100 Ext./Est: 5100

E: committee.services@blaenau-gwent.gov.uk

Contact:/Cysylltwch a: Democratic Services



THIS IS A MEETING WHICH THE PUBLIC ARE ENTITLED TO ATTEND

8th January 2020

Dear Sir/Madam

EDUCATION AND LEARNING SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

A meeting of the Education and Learning Scrutiny Committee will be held in Council Chamber, Civic Centre, Ebbw Vale on Wednesday, 15th January, 2020 at 10.00 am.

Please note that a pre and post meeting will be held 30 minutes prior to the start and following the conclusion of the meeting for members of the committee.

Yours faithfully

MA Morris

Michelle Morris
Managing Director

<u>AGENDA</u> <u>Pages</u>

1. SIMULTANEOUS TRANSLATION

You are welcome to use Welsh at the meeting a minimum notice period of 3 working days is required should you wish to do so. A simultaneous translation

We welcome correspondence in the medium of Welsh or English. / Croesawn ohebiaith trwy gyfrwng y Gymraeg neu'r Saesneg

will be	provided	if rec	uested.

	Will be previous in requestions	
2.	APOLOGIES	
	To receive.	
3.	DECLARATIONS OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS	
	To consider any declarations of interests and dispensations made.	
4.	EDUCATION & LEARNING SCRUTINY COMMITTEE MINUTES	5 - 10
	To receive the Minutes of the Education & Learning Scrutiny Committee held on 4 th December, 2019.	
	(Please note the Minutes are submitted for points of accuracy only)	
5.	ACTION SHEET - 4TH DECEMBER 2019	11 - 12
	To receive the action sheet.	
6.	EXECUTIVE DECISION SHEET	13 - 14
	To receive the Executive Decision Sheet.	
7.	PUPIL EXCLUSIONS	15 - 22
	To consider the report of the Corporate Director for Education.	
8.	21ST CENTURY SCHOOLS PROGRAMME - GATEWAY REVIEW	23 - 42
	To consider the report of the Head of Education Transformation.	
9.	EDUCATION WORKFORCE SICKNESS ABSENCE PERFORMANCE	43 - 50
	To consider the report of the Corporate Director Education and the Head of Organisational Development.	

FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME - 26TH FEBRUARY 51 - 54 **2020**

10.

To receive the report.

To: Councillor H. Trollope (Chair)

Councillor J. Millard (Vice-Chair)

Councillor D. Bevan

Councillor M. Cook

Councillor G. A. Davies

Councillor L. Elias

Councillor W. Hodgins

Councillor J. Holt

Councillor C. Meredith

Councillor J. C. Morgan

Councillor K. Pritchard

Councillor K. Rowson

Councillor T. Smith

Councillor B. Summers

Councillor S. Thomas

T. Baxter

A. Williams

All other Members (for information)

Manager Director

Chief Officers